Devotion

March 14, 2010

Just for all my American friends out there, I’ll write this one on the right-hand side of the page…

They all said I was crazy; the things I wished to do…

To take the stars down from the skies,

The wind from ‘neath the trees.

The hum right out of humming birds,

And steal gracefulness with ease…

But I said I wanted starlight,

I’d like a little breeze.

I like gentle, quiet music,

To sway to like the seas.

So I went al little mental,

And traveled on my own.

To fetch for me these little things,

And bring them right back home.

But voyaging alone like this,

I came to see the truth.

When you said: ‘Don’t go, I love you’

I should have taken it for sooth.

So I turned around to come to you,

With nothing in my hands.

No exotic gifts or presents,

From exciting, foreign lands.

The truth I see now, clear as day,

And I should have from the start.

Of all those things I was searching for;

You’re the work of art.

You have starlight in your eyes,

And wind blows in your hair.

Your laughter is a bird’s sweet call,

And gracefulness is there.

You are my devotion, my religion,

My thoughts and my desires.

You are the fuel that keeps me going,

And feeds my inner fires.

Leave a Reply

